Print this article Print article   |   Back to article

Twelve men and one woman Following a couple of week's intensive negotiations, the Reform Party and the Union of Pro Patria and Res Publica have now agreed on the new list of Ministers in the majority Government coalition.

The list includes twelve men and one woman, each of them briefly introduced below.

(R: Reform Party – Reformierakond, IRL: the Union of Pro Patria and Res Publica - Isamaa ja Res Publica Liit)

The Prime Minister
The former Mayor of Tartu Andrus Ansip (R), continues as Prime Minister in the Reform Party and IRL Government coalition. He has held this position since 2005, following Juhan Parts resignation as Prime Minister that year.

Government Office of the Republic of Estonia
Vabariigi Valitsus - Riigikantselei
The Stenbock House, Rahukohtu 3, 15161 Tallinn
E-mail: riigikantselei[at]
Tel: (+372) 693 5701

The long-time member of the Estonian Parliament and former Minister of Defence (2005 – 2007) Jürgen Ligi (R), continues as Minister of Finance.

Ministry of Finance
Suur-Аmeerika 1, 15006 Tallinn
Tel: (+372) 611 3558
E-mail: info[at]

Economy and Communications
The Vice-Chairman of IRL and Estonia's former Prime Minister 2003 – 2005 Juhan Parts (IRL), continues as Minister of Economy and Communications.

Ministry of Economic Affairs and Communications
Majandus- ja Kommunikatsiooniministeerium
11 Harju tee, 15072 Tallinn
Tel: (+372) 6 256 342
E-mail: info[at]

Foreign Affairs
The former journalist, advisor in the Reform Party, Deputy Mayor of Nõmme and Minister of Culture 2003 – 2005 Urmas Paet (R), continues as Minister of Foreign Affairs.

Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Islandi väljak 1, 15049 Tallinn
Tel: (+372) 6 377 000
E-mail: vminfo[at]

The two-times Prime Minister of Estonia (1992 – 1994 and 1999 – 2002) and the Party Leader of IRL Mart Laar (IRL), picks up the position as Minister of Defence.

Ministry of Defence
Sakala 1, 15094 Tallinn
Tel: (+372) 717 0022
E-mail: info[at]

Education and Research
Leaving his position as Minister of Defence, the former Rector of Tartu University Jaak Aaviksoo (IRL), picks up the position as Minister of Education and Research.

Ministry of Education and Research
Haridus- ja Teadusministeerium
Munga tee 18, 50088 Tartu
Tel: (+372) 735 0222
Tallinn Office:
Tõnismägi 11, 15192 Tallinn
Tel: (+372) 7350 200
E-mail: hm[at]

The Reform Party's Secretary General Kristen Michal (R), becomes Minister of Justice in the new Government coalition.

Ministry of Justice
Tõnismägi 5a, 15191Tallinn
Tel: (+372) 6 208 100
E-mail: info[at]

Interior and Regional Affairs
Ken-Marti Vaher (IRL), makes a come back as a Minister in the Estonian Government; he served as Minister of Justice 2003 – 2005 and now picks up the position as Minister of Internal Affairs.

A former Vice-Minister of Economic Affairs and Communications (until 2007) Siim-Valmar Kiisler (IRL), continues as Minister of Regional Affairs.

Ministry of the Interior
Pikk 61, 15065 Tallinn
Tel: (+372) 612 5008
E-mail: info[at]

Social Affairs
Nominated and sworn in as Minister of Social Affairs in 2009, HannoPevkur (R) continues on the same post.

Ministry of Social Affairs
Gonsiori 29, 15027 Tallinn
Tel: (+372) 626 9301
E-mail: info[at]

The co-founder of Estonia's Radio Kuku and the former Minister of Justice Rein Lang (R), now picks up the position as Minister of Culture.

Ministry of Culture
Suur-Karja 23, 15076 Tallinn
Tel: (+372) 6 282 222

The former Mayor of Viljandi and former Governor of Viljandi County Helir-Valdor Seeder (IRL), continues as Minister of Agriculture.

Ministry of Agriculture
Lai 39 - 41, 15056 Tallinn
Tel: (+372) 625 6101

With a background as a political advisor in the Ministries of Justice, Social Affairs and Foreign Affairs as well as being a Member of the Parliament since 2007 Keit Pentus (R), now picks up her first Minister position as Minister of the Environment.

Ministry of the Environment
Narva mnt 7a, 15172 Tallinn
Tel: (+372) 6262 802